Skip to content


Your basket is empty

Madama Butterfly DVD 2018

Sale price£25.00

When an innocent young Geisha [Olga Busoic] meets and American naval officer, she falls instantly and deeply in love. Giving up her family and her faith, she risks all in marriage to the dashing Lieutenant Pinkerton [Joshua Guerrero] - but her fragile happiness cannot last. Soon love turns to abandonment and betrayal, and Butterfly is forced to make one final, agonising sacrifice.
Bursting with exotic colour and memorable melodies, Puccini’s seductive score conceals a dramatic blade that cuts to the heart. Compressing ‘great grief into small souls’, as the composer himself described it, Madama Butterfly is a classic love story that never fails to move, a tragic romance that sweeps you along in the intensity of its action. Blending authentic Japanese music with luscious European harmonies and orchestration, the opera is an irresistible fusion of East and West.
Puccini’s opera makes its Festival debut in Annilese Miskimmon’s thought-provoking production that updates the original turn-of-the-century setting to the 1950s, confronting the darker political and emotional currents of a work that acknowledges that there are some barriers too great for even love to conquer

Composer: Giacomo Puccini

Conductor: Omer Meir Wellber / Ben Glassberg

Director: Annilese Miskimmon

Designer: Nicky Shaw

Cast includes:

Lieutenant B F Pinkerton: Joshua Guerrero Goro: Carlo Bosi / François Piolino Suzuki: Elizabeth DeShong Sharpless: Michael Sumuel Cio-Cio-San: Olga Busuioc The Cousin: Jennifer Witton Cio-Cio-San’s Mother: Eirlys Myfanwy Davies Yakuside, Cio-Cio-San’s Uncle: Adam Marsden The Aunt: Shuna Scott Sendall Imperial Commissioner: Michael Mofidian Official Registrar: Jake Muffett Bonze: Oleg Budaratskiy Prince Yamadori: Simon Mechlinski Sorrow: Beatrix Prawanna/Rupert Wade Kate Pinkerton: Ida Ränzlöv

London Philharmonic Orchestra

The Glyndebourne Chorus

Madama Butterfly DVD 2018 Glyndebourne Shop
Madama Butterfly DVD 2018 Sale price£25.00